Items in Basket: 0

Future Islands


Label: 4ad

Genre: Rock / Pop


  • CD Digi / Cardboard €14.49
    Dispatched within 5-10 working days

  • Future Islands release ‘Singles’, their debut album for 4AD and their boldest and most immediate work to date. The Baltimore trio consists of enigmatic frontman Sam Herring, bassist / guitarist William Cashion and keyboardist / guitarist / programmer Gerrit Welmers.

  • Herring’s poetic tales of heartbreak, love and loss are up front and in high fidelity, thanks in part to a newfound creative partnership with producer Chris Coady (Beach House, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Grizzly Bear).

  • Future Islands head on a short tour in February, including sold- out shows lined up in LA, New York, London and Baltimore. No strangers to life on the road (the band play over 200 shows a year), they have announced an extensive North American tour throughout March and April, with European dates in May.

  • The trio teamed up with longtime collaborator Jay Buim, who created the music video for ‘Singles’ opener ‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’. An honest and intimate look at the American heartland, the video was filmed in the Great Plains. It documents a real life love story, the modern cowboy way of life and captures the landscapes that personify America. It follows a string of videos Buim has shot for the band (‘Tin Man’, ‘Balance’ and ‘Grease’) that convey the same sense of honesty, beauty and earnestness that are the cornerstones of Future Islands’ music.

  • ‘Singles’ is the band’s fourth full-length album, following ‘On The Water’ (Thrill Jockey, 2011), which garnered a Best New Track nod from Pitchfork for the song ‘Balance’, and ‘In Evening Air’ (Thrill Jockey, 2010).