Items in Basket: 0
A Brief History Of Love

Big Pink

A Brief History Of Love

Label: 4ad

Genre: Rock / Pop


  • CD €16.99
    Dispatched within 5-10 working days

• 2009  started with  a bang, with  the  ink  just  drying  on  a worldwide deal with 4AD –  an  ap
move  as  their  otherworldly  qualities  provide  a  direct  sonic  connection  to  some  of  the
label’s most  celebrated acts like Cocteau Twins, Dead Can Dance and TV On The
Radio –  they appeared high up  in  the  critics  vote BBC Sound poll and  then  received  the
prestigious Philip Hall Radar Award at the NME Awards, something that surprised all bu
those that knew what was about to follow.
• Ignoring all pressure, they headed to the Electric Lady Studios in New York to record and self-
produce what was to become their epic debut album, ‘A Brief History of Love.’
• The job of mixing fell to Rich Costey (Mastodon, Muse, New Order, Rage Against The
Machine) with the exception of ‘Velvet’, which was previously mixed by Alan Moulder (My
Bloody Valentine, NiN, Smashing Pumpkins, Yeah Yeah Yeahs).
• The  final  results  are  eleven  stunning  tracks  that  chart  the  trials  of  the  heart,  set
within a sound-world that combines melody and beautiful noise in equal measure.
• Previous  singles,  ‘Too  Young  To  Love’  and  ‘Velvet’ make  the  cut  while  live  favourites  like
‘Crystal Visions’,  ‘Dominos’ and  ‘Count Backwards From Ten’ all go  towards creating a body
of work so strong, it cements The Big Pink’s position as one of the finest and most
important bands to emerge in years.